In stock: 49

Irish Architecture 2014: The AAI Awards

Irish Architecture 2014 is the publication of the 29th AAI awards.

Ireland’s longest running awards programme, the AAI Awards are the only internationally peer-reviewed architecture awards in Ireland that publicly publish the critical discourse which takes place among the assessors adjudicating the awards. As a consequence the awards give the public an unprecedented insight into the critical conversations that shape the quality of our built environment and future heritage. Historically these awards have been the first to recognize the emerging talents that have gone on to become the established names of an increasingly sophisticated and internationally recognised culture of architecture in Ireland.

The intention of the AAI awards is to encourage higher standards of architecture throughout the country, to recognise projects of any scale and type that make a contribution to Irish architecture culture, and to inform the public of emerging directions in contemporary architecture.

Since 2000, a 5-person jury comprising of an architectural critic, a foreign architect, two Irish architects and a distinguished non-architect have judged the awards. The composition of the jury ensures a balance between an international perspective and an understanding of the particular context in which Irish architects work.


Justin McGuirk – Architectural Critic

Adam Khan – UK Assessor – Adam Kahn Architects

Mary Laheen – Irish Assessor – (2013 AAI Award winner) Mary Laheen Architects

Andrew Clancy – Irish Assessor – (2013 AAI Downes Medal winner) Clancy Moore Architects

Karen Hennessy – Distinguished non-architect – CEO Design & Crafts Council of Ireland

Downes Medal

MAC, Belfast – Hackett Hall McKnight, Belfast


Coláiste Ailigh Litir Ceanainn, Letterkenny, Co. Donegal – McGarry Ní Éanaigh Architects, Dublin

Saw Swee Hock Students Centre, London School of Economics, London – O’Donnell + Tuomey Architects, Dublin

Leagaun House, Leagaun, Co. Galway – Ryan W. Kennihan Architects, Dublin

Vita House Family Centre, Abbey St., Roscommon – Ryan W. Kennihan Architects, Dublin

Harold’s Cross House, Dublin – Ryan W. Kennihan Architects, Dublin

Vartov Square, Copenhagan – Hall McKnight, Belfast

Special Mention

Granby Park, Dublin – A2 Architects and Sean Harrington Architects in collaboration with Upstart, Dublin

Kimisagara Community Centre, Kigali, Rwanda – Architectural [Field] Office, Rwanda/Sierra Leone/Ireland

The Photographers’ Gallery, London – O’Donnell + Tuomey Architects, Dublin

Seven Square Metres, Dublin – GKMP Architects, Dublin

The Cow House, Blessington, Co. Wicklow – Michael Kelly Architect, Dublin

End Of Terrace, Dublin – TAKA Architects, Dublin

Life on the Lane, Inchicore, Dublin – Hassett Ducatez Architects, Dublin

Maurice Craig Award

United World College, Ireland – Edwyn Hickey, Dublin School of Architecture, DIT