Exhibition of the AAI Awards 2016

Inchicore 2016 awards

Date: 14.05.16 – 28.05.16 (closed Mondays and Tuesdays)

Time: 10:30 – 17:00 (closed between 14:15 and 15:00 for lunch, finishing early at 14:30 on 28.05.16)

The Architectural Association of Ireland are pleased to announce the AAI Annual Awards Exhibition 2016 at the Coach House, Dublin Castle, Dublin 2. The exhibition will be open to the public from from Saturday 14th to Saturday 28th May. The winning projects have been curated into a specially designed exhibition. The curators and designers are young emerging talents, Darragh Breathnach (DUA), Jonny Steen (DUA) and Banbha McCann.

Ireland’s longest running awards programme, the AAI Awards, are the only internationally peer reviewed architecture awards in Ireland that publicly publish the critical discourse which takes place among the assessors adjudicating the awards. As a consequence the awards give the public an unprecedented insight into the critical conversations that shape the quality of our built environment and future heritage. Historically these awards have been the first to recognize the emerging talents that have gone on to become the established names of an increasingly sophisticated and internationally recognised culture of architecture in Ireland.

The intention of the AAI awards is to encourage higher standards of architecture throughout the country, to recognise projects of any scale and type that make a contribution to Irish architecture culture, and to inform the public of emerging directions in contemporary architecture.

Since 2000, a 5-person jury comprising of an architectural critic, a foreign architect, two Irish architects and a distinguished non-architect have judged the awards. The composition of the jury ensures a balance between an international perspective and an understanding of the particular context in which Irish architects work.

The 31st AAI awards jury consisted of;

Critic: Ellis Woodman, Director of the Architecture Foundation (UK) and architectural critic with the Daily Telegraph
Distinguished Non-architect: Isabel Nolan, Visual Artist
Foreign Assessor: Marie Jose Van Hee, MJose Van Hee Architecten, Belgium
Irish Assessor: Michelle Fagan, FKL Architects
Irish Assessor: Simon Walker, Walker Architects

The awarded and commended schemes in the 2016 awards are as follows:

Downes Medal

Inchicore Model School, Inchicore, Dublin 10   Donaghy + Dimond Architects


Arena for Learning, UTEC, Lima, Peru – Grafton Architects
House at Maghera, Castlewellan, Co.Down – McGonigle McGrath
dlrLexicon, Central Library and Cultural Centre, Moran Park, Dún Laoghaire – Carr Cotter Naessens Architects
Bealalaw House, Myshall, Co.Carlow – Ryan W. Kennihan Architects
Doolin Coastguard Station, Doolin, Co.Clare – Dominic Stevens Architects with Dorman Architects

Special Mentions

‘Floating Plane, Hidden Garden’, Ranelagh, Dublin 6 – McCullough Mulvin Architects
Farmhouse project, Co. Meath – Lawrence and Long Architects
Reconciliation Rooms at St. Teresa’s Church, Clarendon Street, Dublin 2 – John McLaughlin Architects
Athlone Community College, Athlone, Co. Westmeath – McGarry Ní Éanaigh Architects
Northlight, Booterstown, Dublin 6 – David Flynn Architects
Learning Pavilion – Robert Bourke Architects
St Patrick’s Park Tearoom, St.Patrick’s Park, Dublin 8 – TAKA Architects
New Hostel Building, Killarney, Co.Kerry – Gottstein Architects
Hazel Lane Mews Houses, Clontarf, Dublin 3 – Dublin Design Studio
The One Building, Grand Canal Street Lower, Dublin 2 – NBK Architects

Maurice Craig Student Award

Commendations were awarded to the following two entries:
Saltworks: the Poetics of the Technical Object – Sarah Carroll
Rewilding the City – Andrew Howell

A selection of AAI Publications including Building Material 20 and Irish Architecture 2014 will be available for purchase at the exhibition.

The Exhibition of the 2016 Architectural Association of Ireland Annual Awards is kindly supported by the Office of Public Works and Hacketts Digital


OPW logo


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.