AAI Announces – 2024 Maurice Craig Award Winners

The AAI is delighted to announce the winning projects from the 2024 Maurice Craig Award.

The Maurice Craig Award is geared towards architectural graduates who have completed their fifth year of study in the previous 24 months. Graduates from all universities on the island of Ireland are eligible. The jury for the 2024 AAI Awards assessed the submissions for the Maurice Craig Award and have chosen one winner, and three special mentions. The Jury were seeking strong architectural ideas, that consider community, sustainability and the environment, as well as excellent architectural communication and presentation skills.

Comhghairdeachas to the winners, and our sincere thanks to all the graduates who entered. The winners will be invited to our annual awards night, and their work will be published in our annual awards publication, alongside comments from the jury. We look forward to celebrating with you.

Maurice Craig Award
The Maurice Craig award for thesis was awarded to:

A Ruderal Architecture by Cormac Dockry – TUD, Technological University DublinAdjudication + Jury

Special Mentions
While the following three projects received Special Mentions:

On Complex Ordinariness by Helen McFadden, TUD, Technological University Dublin
Re-imagining community by Mairi Evans McGowan, SAUL, School of Architecture, University of Limerick
Sheltering The City by Noah Brabazon, UCD, University College Dublin




Adjudication + Jury

The adjudication occurred in City Assembly House yesterday Thursday, April 25th 2024. Many thanks to our generous hosts, The Irish Georgian Society.

We also want to thank the jury for their generous commitment to this process and their insightful commentary and debate. We hope that it will make for an interesting read.

Critic and Chair:
Dr. Adrian Lahoud – Dean of the School of Architecture at the Royal College of Art, London.
Irish Architects:
Dominic Stevens of JFOC Architects
Jane Larmour of Arigho Larmour Wheeler Architects
International Architect:
Amelia Tavella of Amelia Tavella Architectes
Distinguished Non-Architect:
Mary Conlon – Curator

The Awards presentation and exhibition will be held at the beginning of September 2024.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.