AAI Awards

The AAI Awards seeks to recognise the best of Irish architecture produced during a single calendar year, whilst providing a forum for the critique of contemporary work. The role of transparency and debate is also key, and the AAI Awards is the only such scheme in Ireland to make public jury members’ comments and conversations.

Entries are judged by a panel of five assessors: an architectural critic, a foreign architect, two Irish architects, and a distinguished non-architect. Projects eligible for submission must have been undertaken by architects working in Ireland or by Irish architects working abroad. Both built and unbuilt work may be considered suitable for assessment.

The jury may allot a project one of three strands of acclamation: a Special Mention, an Award, and the Downes Medal. Entries are not divided by category and are assessed individually according to the quality of work presented. A maximum of seven Awards and an indefinite number of Special Mentions may be bestowed. The Downes Medal is the AAI’s highest honour and is awarded to projects of outstanding architectural merit. There is no provision to confer the Downes Medal on an annual basis and it is only granted at the discretion of the jury.

Irish Architecture is a publication which details each of the year’s selected projects, presented through text, drawing, and photography, alongside the respective discussions had by the chosen panel of assessors. We hope the content of the work published, along with the transcript of the AAI’s Annual Critic’s Lecture, will act as both a reflective critique of contemporary architectural culture in Ireland and as a historical record of days, in the future, past.

AAI Awards 2024
AAI Awards 2023
AAI Awards 2022
AAI Awards 2021
AAI Awards 2020
AAI Awards 2019
AAI Awards 2018
AAI Awards 2017
AAI Awards 2016
AAI Awards 2015
AAI Awards 2014
AAI Awards 2013
AAI Awards 2012
AAI Awards 2011
AAI Awards 2010
AAI Awards 2009
AAI Awards 2008
AAI Awards 2007
AAI Awards 2006
AAI Awards 2005
AAI Awards 2004
AAI Awards 2003
AAI Awards 2002
AAI Awards 2001
AAI Awards 2000
AAI Awards 1999
AAI Awards 1998
AAI Awards 1997
AAI Awards 1996
AAI Awards 1995
AAI Awards 1994
AAI Awards 1993
AAI Awards 1992
AAI Awards 1991
AAI Awards 1990
AAI Awards 1989
AAI Awards 1987
AAI Awards 1986

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.